Asian Games

• Asian Games is a multisport events held after every four years within the Asian continent.

• Asian Games is also known as Asiad.

• The event was started from 1951 under the supervision of Asian Games Federation.

• From 1982 the event is organized by Olympic Council of Asia. It has its headquarters in Kuwait.

• The first Asian Games was held at delhi, India in 1951. A total of 11 nations participated on that first events.

• This year the 17th Asian Games will be held on Incheon, South Korea with 45 Asian countries participation.

• The idea of Asian Games was first proposed by Guru Dutt Sondhi, Indian International Olympic Committee representative.

• The first mascot for the events was used in the 1982 Delhi Asian Games. The mascot was known as Appu, an Indian elephant.

• This year the mascot is known as Barame, Vichuon, and Chumuro, three spotted seals.

• Till now China has won the maximum numbers of medals.

• Bangkok host the event maximum numbers with 4 (1966, 1970, 1978 and 1998).

• In 1994, the event was first time held outside the capital city of the host country. That year the Asian Games was held in Hiroshima, Japan.