• Manipur is one of the located in North-East India state of India. Manipur is one of the eight states of Northeast India.

• Manipur became a full-fledged State of India on the 21th January, 1972.

• It shares its boundary with Nagaland to the north, Mizoram to the south, Assam to the west and Burma in east. The total area of the state is area 22,327

• There are total 9 districts in Manipur.

• Total population in the state is around 27 lakhs only according to 2011 census.

• Density in the state is 82 per Sq km.

• Imphal is the capital city of Manipur.

• Manipuri is the state official language.

• Literacy Rate in the state is 79.85%.

• The economy of the state mainly depends on agriculture.

• There are 33 Schedule Tribes present in the state. The people of Manipur include Meitei, Naga, Kuki, Meitei Pangal etc.

• Total assembly constituency is 60, while the Parliamentary Constituencies 2.

• Imphal, Kangla, War Cemetery, Loktak Lake, Keibul Lamjao National Park etc are the main tourist attraction places in Manipur.

• Loktak Lake is the largest fresh water lake in the North East Region. Manipur, Imphal, Iril, Nambul, Sekmai etc are the main river of Manipur.

• Ras Lila is the epitome of Manipuri classical dance. Lai-Haraoba, Yaoshang, Ratha Jatra etc are the main festival celebrated in Manipur.

Districts of Manipur
District Headquarters Area (km2) Population (2011) Population Density (/km2)
Bishnupur Bishnupur 496 2,40,363 415
Chandel Chandel 3,317 1,44,028 37
Churachandpur Churachandpur 4,574 2,71,274 50
Imphal East Porompat 710 4,52,661 555
Imphal West Lamphelpat 519 5,14,683 847
Jiribam Jiribam 232 43,818 190
Kakching Kakching 1,35,481
Kamjong Kamjong 2,000 45,616 23
Kangpokpi Kangpokpi
Noney Noney (Longmai)
Pherzawl Pherzawl 2,285 47,250 21
Senapati Senapati 3,269 3,54,772 116
Tamenglong Tamenglong 4,391 1,40,143 25
Tengnoupal Tengnoupal
Thoubal Thoubal 514 4,20,517 713
Ukhrul Ukhrul 4,547 1,83,115 31