List of National Congress Sessions

The Indian National Congress was founded on 28 December 1885 by Allan Octavian Hume. He was a member of the Imperial Civil Service and a political reformer. The Indian National Congress conducted its first session in Bombay from 28th December to 31st December 1885. Womesh Chunder Bonnerjee was the first president of Congress and the first session was attended by 72 delegates, representing each province of India. Here is the list of each sessions till India got Independence.

National Congress Sessions
Session Palce Date President
54th Session Meerut Nov. 23-24, 1946 J.B. Kripalani
53rd Session Ramgarh Mar. 19-20, 1940 Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
52nd Session Tripura Mar. 10-12, 1939 Subhash Chandra Bose
51st Session Haripura Feb. 19-21, 1938 Subhash Chandra Bose
50th Session Faizpur Jul. 12-14, 1937 Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
49th Session Lucknow Jun. 18-20, 1936 Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
48th Session Bombay Oct. 24-28, 1934 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
47th Session Calcutta Sep. 12-14, 1933 Mrs. Nellie Sengupta
45th Session Karachi Mar. 21-31, 1931 Vallabbhai J. Patel
44th Session Lahore Apr. 16-18, 1929 Pt Jawaharlal Nehru
43rd Session Calcutta Dec. 29-01, 1929 Motilal Nehru
42nd Session Madras Dec. 26-28, 1927 M.A. Ansari
41st Session Gawahati Dec. 26-28, 1926 S. Srinivasa Iyengar
40th Session Cawnpore Apr. 15-17, 1925 Mrs. Sarojini Naidu
39th Session Belgaum Dec. 26-27, 1924 M.K. Gandhi
Special Session Delhi Sep. 04-08, 1923 Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
37th Session Gaya Dec. 26-31, 1922 Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das
36th Session Ahmedabad Dec. 27-28, 1921 Hakim Ajmal Khan (Acting President for C.R. Das)
35th Session Nagpur Dec. 26-30, 1920 C. Vijayaraghavachariar
34th Session Amritsar Dec. 26-30, 1919 Motilal Nehru
(Special Session) Bombay Aug. 29-01, 1918 Syed Hasan Imam
33rd Session Delhi Dec. 26-30, 1918 Madan Mohan Malaviya
32nd Session Calcutta Dec. 26-29, 1917 Annie Besant
31st Session Lucknow Dec. 26-30, 1916 Ambica Charan Mazumdar
30th Session Bombay Dec. 27-29, 1915 Satyendra Prasanna Sinha
29th Session Madras Apr. 14-15, 1914 Bhupendra Nath Bose
28th Session Karachi Dec. 26-28, 1913 Nawab Syed Mohammed Bahadur
27th Session Bankipore Dec. 26-28, 1912 Shri Raghunath Narasinha Mudholkar
26th Session Calcutta Dec. 26-28, 1911 Bishan Narayan Dar
25th Session Allahabad Dec. 26-29, 1910 Sir William Wedderburn
24th Session Lahore Dec. 27-29, 1909 Madan Mohan Malaviya
23rd Session Madras Dec. 28-30, 1908 Rash Behari Ghosh
23rd Session (Suspended) Surat Dec. 26-27, 1907 Rash Behari Ghosh
22nd Session Calcutta Dec. 26-29, 1906 Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
21st Session Banaras Dec. 27-30, 1905 Gopal Krishna Gokhale
20th Session Bombay Dec. 26-28, 1903 Sir Henry Cotton
19th Session Madras Dec. 28-30, 1903 Lal Mohan Ghosh
18th Session Ahmedabad Dec. 28-30, 1902 Surendranath Banerjee
17th Session Calcutta Dec. 26-28, 1901 Dinshaw Eduljee Wacha
16th Session Lahore Dec. 27-29, 1900 N.G. Chandavarkar
15th Session Lucknow Dec. 27-29, 1899 Romesh Chunder Dutt
14th Session Madras Dec. 29-31, 1898 Ananda Mohan Bose
13th Session Amraoti Dec. 27-29, 1897 C. Sankaran Nair
12th Session Calcutta Dec. 28-31, 1896 Rahimatullah M. Sayani
11th Session Pune Dec. 27-30, 1895 Surendranath Banerjee
10th Session Madras Dec. 26-29, 1894 Alfred Webb
9th Session Lahore Dec. 27-30, 1893 Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
8th Session Allahabad Dec. 28-30, 1892 Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
7th Session Nagpur Dec. 28-30, 1891 P. Ananda Charlu
6th Session Calcutta Dec. 26-30, 1890 Pherozeshah Mehta
5th Session Bombay Dec. 26-28, 1889 Sir William Wedderburn
4th Session Allahabad Dec. 26-29, 1888 George Yule
3rd Session Madras Dec. 27-30, 1887 Badruddin Tyabji
2nd Session Calcutta Dec. 27-30, 1886 Shri Dadabhai Naoroji
1st Session Bombay Dec. 28-30, 1885 Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee

Get new posts by email: