• Telangana is a newly created state in southern part of India. Telangana is situated on the Deccan Plateau.

• It is created from the state of Andhra Pradesh with an area 1,14,840 square km.

• The state consists of 10 districts.

• The state was established in 2nd June, 2014.

• Telangana is surrounded by Chhattisgarh and Odisha in the north, Andhra Pradesh in south and east and Maharastra and Karnataka in west.

• Hyderabad is the largest and capital city of Telanaga.

• Total population in the state is more than 3.5 cores as per 2011 census.

• The density in the state is 310 per square km. 66.50 % of the total population is literate.

• The economy of the state is mainly depends on agriculture.

• Krishna and Godavari are by the two main rivers in the state.

• Total number of parliamentary constituency in the state is 17.

• Telugu and Urdu are the official language of Telangana.

• Hyderabad, Nizamabad, Warangal and Karimnagar are the main cities in Telanaga.

• Charminar, Golconda Fort, Chowmahalla Palace, Qutb Shahi Tombs, Bhadrachalam Temple etc are the main tourist attraction in Telangana.

State Symbols of Telangana
Category English Term
Song Jaya Jaya He Telangana
Animal Spotted deer
Bird Indian roller
Flower Tangidi Puvvu
Tree Jammi Chettu
Fruit Mago
Fish Snakehead Murrel