2014 FIFA World Cup

• The 2014 FIFA World Cup is the 20th FIFA World Cup.

• The mega tournament is hosted by 12 cities in Brazil. It was the second time that Brazil has hosted the competition, the first being in 1950.

• It starts from 12 June, 2014 to 13th July, 2014. Germany wins the tournament after defeating Argentina by 1-0 in the final at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro.

• The third and fourth place was taken by Netherlands and Brazil respectively.

• It was Germany's fourth FIFA title. Last time they won in 1990 after defeating same opponent Argentina in the final.

• The winning goal of 2014 is scored by Mario Gotze.

• The tournament is participated by 32 teams from 5 confederations. A total of 64 matches were played. In 2014 FIFA World Cup two technology used for first time, goal-line technology and vanishing foam for free kicks.

• Some of the biggest disappointments in the tournaments are: the title holder Spain, England and Italy eliminated from group stage. Also host nation Brazil lost to Germany in the semi-final by the margin of 7-1. During the tournament, Luis Suarez of Uruguay suspended for nine international matches and banned for four months after a biting incident on Italian defender Giorgio Chiellini.

• Uruguay's Maxi Pereira gets the first red card of the tournament. Germany's Thomas Muller scores the first hat-trick of the tournament in a match against Portugal.

• Also during the tournament Germany's Miroslav Klose break the record of highest number of goal score by Ronaldo (Brazil).

• By winning the final, Germany became the first European football team to win a World Cup in the South America.

• A total of 171 goals scored during the tournament. James Rodriguez of Colombia scores the highest number of goals with 6. He wins the golden boot of the tournament.

• Lionel Messi of Argentina is selected as best player of the tournaments while Manuel Neuer of Germany is selected as best goalkeeper.

• FIFA Fair Play Trophy wins by Colombia team.