Daman and Diu

• Daman and Diu is a union territory of India located on western coast.

• It was the smallest federal division of India on the mainland. The total area is 112 km2 (43 sq mi).

• Daman and Diu is comprised of two distinct regions—Daman and Diu. Daman and Diu are geographically separated by the Gulf of Khambhat.

• It was a Portuguese colony from 1500s to till 1961 when the territories were annexed by India. Daman and Diu were administered as part of the union territory of Goa till 1987, when they became a separate union territory.

• According to the 2011 census, Daman and Diu had a literacy rate of 87.1%.

• The town of Daman, in the Daman district, is the capital of the territory.