Andaman Nicobar

• Andaman and Nicobar are a group of islands located on the Bay of Bengal.

• The territory was formed on 1st November in 1956.

• Total area of the Andaman and Nicobar is 8,249 square km. There are total 572 islands in the territory out of which 34 are permanently inhabited.

• Port Blair is the capital city of the territory.

• Total population of the state is 3.8 lakhs while the density is 46 per square km.

• The Andaman and Nicobar are separated by the Ten Degree Channel which is 150 Kms. wide.

• Administratively, Andaman and Nicobar Islands is divided into three districts.

• The literacy rate in the islands is 86.27%.

• During the British ruling in India, the islands of Andaman and Nicobar became infamous as the 'Kalapani' where freedom fighters were kept separately from the mainland of India.

• The economy of the state depends mainly on agriculture and tourism.

• Hindi and English are the official language of Andaman and Nicobar.

• Cellular Jail, Ross Island, Viper Island, Hopetown etc are the main tourist attraction in the territory.

State Symbols of Andaman Nicobar
Category English Term
Animal Sea cow
Bird Andaman wood pigeon
Flower Andaman Pyinma
Tree Andaman redwood