Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh is a state located in the northeastern region of India, known for its stunning natural beauty, diverse culture and rich history. The state is bordered by China, Bhutan, and Myanmar, and is often referred to as the "Land of the Rising Sun" due to its location on the easternmost part of India. The state is home to many tribes, each with their own distinct culture, customs and languages. The major tribes include the Adi, Apatani, Nyishi, and Monpa. The state's culture is heavily influenced by animism, Buddhism, Hinduism and other traditional practices.

Arunachal Pradesh is known for its picturesque landscapes and rich biodiversity. The state has many national parks, wildlife sanctuaries and protected areas that are home to a wide variety of flora and fauna. The state is also home to several major rivers such as the Brahmaputra, Kameng, and Subansiri. Arunachal Pradesh has a rich history, with evidence of human habitation dating back to the Neolithic period. The state was ruled by various dynasties, including the Monpa and the Chutia kingdoms. In the 20th century, the state was under British control, and later became a part of independent India. In recent years, Arunachal Pradesh has been in the news due to its strategic location and the ongoing disputes with China over the border. Despite these challenges, the state continues to be an important region in northeastern India, with a unique culture, history and natural beauty. Overall, Arunachal Pradesh is a state that offers a lot of potential for tourism and research due to its rich culture and natural beauty. It is a lesser-explored state of India and has a lot of potential to offer to the visitors.

Below are some important points to remember about Arunachal Pradesh:

• Arunachal Pradesh is situated in the North Eastern part of India.

• It shares a long international border with Bhutan to the west (160 km), China to the north and north-east (1,080 km) and Myanmar to the east (440 km). In the south it shares border with Assam and Nagaland.

• Arunachal is also known as the Orchid State of India.

• Arunachal Pradesh attained its statehood on 20th February 1987.

• Arunachal Pradesh is the largest state area-wise in the north-east region.

• Itanagar is the capital of Arunachal Pradesh.

• According to 2011 census in has a population of 13.84 Lakhs with literacy rate of 65.38%.

• It is one of the lowest density state in India with only 17 per square km.

• The State has a total area of 83,743 square Km.

• It has total 17 districts.

• There are 60 members in the State Legislative Assembly and 2 seats for MP elections.

• Economy of the state mainly depends on Agriculture.

• Tawang Monastery in Arunachal Pradesh is the largest monastery in India.

• Itanagar, Tawang Monastery, Namdapha Wild life Sanctury, Tippi Orchid Centre, Akashiganga major tourist attraction places.

• There are 4 National parks and 7 wildlife sanctuaries in the state, which are the prime attractions for the tourists.

• Adi, Apatani and Nyishi are the major tribes living in the state. The State has 26 tribes and 110 sub tribes.

• Siang, Kameng, Subansiri, Dibang, Lohit are the major rivers in Arunachal Pradesh.

State Symbols of Arunachal Pradesh
Category English Term
Mammal Gayal
Bird Hornbill
Flower Foxtail orchid
Tree Hollong
Fish Golden Mahseer