Committee-Commission formed india

Here is a list of different committees and commissions which were formed at different times by Indian Governments. These committees and commissions were setup with the objective of careful analysis of a problem which may relate to different fields. Based on the recommendation provided by these committees, several reformation or action is also taken.

Committee and Commissions
Committee / Commission Appointed in Report Submitted Mandate
Ashok Mehta Committee 1977 1978 On Panchayati Raj institutions
Balwant Rai Mehta Committee 1957 1957 Recommendations on decentralization system
Chelliah Committee 1991 1992 Recommendations on Indian Fiscal Policy
Kalelkar Commission 1953 1955 First Commission for Backward Classes Commission
Kothari Commission 1964 1966 Education Reform
Malhotra Committee 1993 1994 Insurance Sector Reforms
Mandal Commission 1979 1980 Identify the socially or educationally backward class
Narasimham Committee 1998 1998 On Banking Sector Reforms
Naresh Chandra Committee 2011 2012 Defense reforms
Phukan Commission 2001 2005 Corruption in Defense Deals in the wake of the controversy generated by the Tehelka tapes
Sachar Committee 2005 2006 Examine social, economic and educational condition of the Muslim community of India
Sarkaria Commission 1983 1988 To examine the relationship and balance of power between state and central governments
Shah Nawaz Committee 1955 1956 To look into the circumstances around Subhas Chandra Bose's death
Srikrishna Commission 1993 1998 1992 Bombay riots
Srikrishna committee 2010 2010 To look into the demand for separate statehood for Telangana
Thakkar Commission 1984 1986 Inquiry set up to probe Indira Gandhi's assassination
Vohra Committee 1993 1993 Criminalisation of politics