Commonwealth Games

• Commonwealth Games is an international, multi-sport event involving countries from Commonwealth groups.

• The concept of the event was first proposed by the John Astley Cooper in 1891.

• The headquarter of the Commonwealth Games Federation is in London, UK.

• Humanity, Equality and Destiny is the moto of Commonwealth Games. The federation has mission to ensure the successful organization and celebration of the Commonwealth Games and to promote the best interests of athletes participating in them and to assist in the development of sport throughout the Commonwealth.

• The first commonwealth games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada. A total of 11 nation participated in the first commonwealth games.

• In the latest commonwealth games at Glasgow 2014, 71 countries participated in the events.

• Till now 29 commonwealth games events held across different countries around the world.

• The games have been held except in the years 1942 and 1946 due to World War.

• From 1930 to 1950 the Games were known as the British Empire Games, from 1954 until 1966 the British Empire and Commonwealth Games and from 1970 to 1974 it was known as British Commonwealth Games.

• From 1978, the event is known as the Commonwealth Games.

• The President of the Commonwealth Games Federation is elected by members of the General Assembly at their meeting in the year following the Commonwealth Games.

• The current President is HRH Prince Imran (Malaysia).

• After independence India had first participated in the year 1954, while host the event once in the year 2010 in Delhi.

• Australia is the nation which till now host most number of Commonwealth Games with 5 times. Auckland and Edinburgh are the two cities that host the games more than one occasion.