Cricket World Cup

• The World Cup ODI cricket is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years.

• The first World Cup was organized in England in June 1975. Eight teams participated in the first tournament: Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and East Africa. The tournament was won by the West Indies after defeating Australia by 17 runs in the final at Lord's.

• The first three World Cups were held in England. It was first held outside England in the year 1987. That year, India and Pakistan jointly host the tournament.

• Australia has won the tournament five times, India and West Indies twice each, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have won it once each.

• In 2007 Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cup tournaments.

• England are the current champions after winning the 2019 edition.

• The 2019 World Cup was hosted by England and Wales. The number of participants was reduced to 10.

• There are 12 World Cup tournaments being held to date.

• The next tournament will be held in India in 2023.

• Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has scored more runs in the World Cup than any other player. He scores 2278 runs in 44 innings. He also shares the record for the most World Cup appearances (6) with Javed Miandad.

• Australian bowler Glenn McGrath has taken more wickets than any other player in the Cricket World Cup history. He took 71 wickets in 39 matches.

• The tournament is one of the world's most viewed sporting events.

World Cup Winners
Year Host Winner Score Runner-up Score Result
1975 England West Indies 291–8 Australia 274 West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies 286–9 England 194 West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India 183 West Indies 140 India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia 253–5 England 246–8 Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan 249–6 England 227 Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka 245–3 Australia 241 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia 133–2 Pakistan 132 Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia 359–2 India 234 Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia 281–4 Sri Lanka 215–8 Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India 277–4 Sri Lanka 274–6 India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia 186–3 New Zealand 183 Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England 241 New Zealand 241–8 England won on boundary count after match tied
2023 India Australia 241-4 India 240 Australia won by 6 wickets