Indian Armed forces Equivalent ranks

• The President of India is the Commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

• Indian Armed Forces consist of three professional uniformed services: the Indian Army, Indian Navy, and Indian Air Force.

• The Indian Armed Forces are also supported by the Indian Coast Guard and paramilitary organizations.

• It is the world's second-largest military force with a strength of over 1.4 million active personnel and has the world's largest volunteer army.

• As per the 2020 Global Firepower report, the Indian Armed forces is the fourth most powerful military in the World.

• The highest wartime gallantry award given by the Military of India is the Param Vir Chakra, followed by the Maha Vir Chakra and the Vir Chakra.

• Its peacetime equivalent is the Ashoka Chakra Award.

• The highest decoration for meritorious service is the Param Vishisht Seva Medal.

• The highest ranks of the three Indian Defence forces Field Marshal (in Army), Marshal of the Air Force (in Air Force), and Admiral of the Fleet (in Navy) are 5-star ranks.

• Late Field Marshal S.H.F.J. Manekshaw and the late Field Marshal Kodandera Madappa Cariappa are the only two officers who have attained Field Marshal rank. Senior air officer Arjan Singh is the only one who had received the rank of the Marshal of the Indian Air Force.

• The Admiral of the Fleet rank has never been awarded.

• Indian military officers who hold a 5-star rank are considered to be serving officers till death and hold their rank for life.

Rankes of Armed Forces Officers
Army Air Force Navy
Field Marshal Marshal of the Air Force Admiral of the fleet
General Air Chief Marshal Admiral
Lt. General Air Marshal Vice Admiral
Major General Air Vice Marshal Rear Admiral
Brigadier Air Commodore Commodore
Colonel Group Captain Captain
Lt. Colonel Wing Commander Commander
Major Squadron Leader Lt. Commander
Captain Flight Lieutenant Lieutenant
Lieutenant Flying Officer Sub Lieutenant

Ranks of the PBOR (Personnel Below Officers’ Rank) of Indian Armed Forces
Army Air Force Navy
Subedar/Risaldar Major Master Warrant Officer Master Chief Petty Officer ( First Class )
Subedar/Risaldar Warrant Officer Master Chief Petty Officer ( Second Class )
Naib Subedar/Risaldar Junior Warrant Officer Chief Petty Officer
Lance Havildar/Daffadar Sergeant Petty Officer
Naik Corporal Leading Seaman
Lance Naik Leading Aircraftsman Seaman I
Sepoy Airman Seaman II

Equivalent ranks of the Indian Navy and Indian Coast Guard
ICG Ranks Navy Ranks
ICG Ranks Navy Ranks
Director General Vice Admiral  (FOC-in-C’s Scale)
Additional Director General Vice Admiral (HAG scale)
Inspector General Rear Admiral
Deputy Inspector General  (Senior) Commodore
Deputy Inspector General (Junior) Captain
Commandant Captain (with seniority) or Commander
Commandant (Junior Grade) Commander
Deputy Commandant Lt. Commander
Assistant Commandant Lieutenant
Assistant Commandant (Trainee) Sub Lieutenant