Timeline of Indian History ......

A complete list of ancient Indian history timeline with ancient India facts for exam preparation. Starting from ancient India to the Indian independence history it is a long list to know.....

2800 BC          Indus Valley Civilization begins in the northwestern region of India

2600 BC          Mohenjo-daro and Harappa phase of the Indus Valley Civilization begins, in Punjab and Sindh. Other cities like Lothal, Mehrgarh also emerged during this period.

1600 BC           India is invaded by the Aryans from the westGautam Budha

1400 BC           The Vedas, the Hindu scripture, was written

600 BC             The Upanishads written

599 BC             Mahavira, 24th Tirthankar of Jainism is born

563 BC             Gautam Buddha, founder of Buddhism is born in Lumbini

527 BC             Nirvana of Mahavira

492 BC             Bimbisara dies and is succeeded by Ajatashatru in Magadha Empire

483 BC             Death of Gautama Buddha in Kushinagar

326 BC             Alexander the Great moved into India, King Porus who ruled parts of the Punjab, fought Alexander at the Battle of the Hydaspes River.

321 BC             Chandragupta Maurya established Mauryan dynasty defeating Dhana Nanda

305 BC             Chandragupta Maurya defeats Seleucus Nicator of the Seleucid Empire.

300 BC             Chola dynasty establishes his kingdom over southern India with capital in Thanjavur

269 BC             Ashoka the Great, grandson of Chandragupta Maurya, becomes the emperor of India

261 BC             Kalinga War takes place between Magadha Empire and the kingdom of Kalinga.

232 BC             Death of King Ashoka

185 BC             The Mauryan Empire, collapsed after its emperor Brihadrata was assassinated by his general Pusyamitra Sunga who then established the Sunga dynasty

50 AD              Establishment of the Kushan empire by Kujula Kadphises, first Buddhist stupa is
constructed at Sanchi

300                  The Pallava dynasty is established in Kanchi

320                  The Gupta dynasty founded by Maharaja Sri Gupta, reunited northern India initiating
the "golden Age" of India

335                   King Samudragupta ascends the Gupta throne and expands the empire.

380                   Chandragupta II, Samudragupta's son becomes the Gupta Emperor.

450                   Invasions by the Huna.

606                   Harshavardhana crowned Monarch.

712                   First Muslim, Md. Bin Qasim defeats Raja Dahir

1021                 Mahmud Ghazni defeats Tarnochalpal and annexes Punjab Guru Nanak

1206                 Qutb ub-din Aybak establishes the Delhi Sultanate

1221                 Genghis Khan invades Punjab

1236                 Razia Sultana, only lady ruler of Delhi

1290                   Jalal ud-Din Firuz establishes the Khilji sultanate at Delhi

1298                 Marco Polo visits India

1336                 Vijayanagara Empire established by Harihara I and his brother Bukka Raya I

1398                 Timur conquered India resulting in the decline of the Delhi Sultanate

1469                 Birth of Guru Nanak Dev

1497                 Vasco de Gama's first voyage from Europe to India and back (to 1499)

1526                 Babur established the Mughal Empire

1555                 Mughal king Humayun comes to fight Sher Shah and regains India

1556                 Humayun dies, and is succeeded by Akbar

1600                 Queen Elizabeth I granted a charter to the East India Company established trading posts in Bombay, Calcutta, and Madras

1605                 Akbar dies, and is succeeded by his son Jehangir.

1612                 British arrives India

1632                 Taj Mahal construction initiated by Mughal ruler Shah Jahan

1653                 Shah Jahan completes Taj Mahal. Shah Jahan dies, and is succeeded by his son Aurangzeb.

1675                 Guru Tegh Bahadur, the ninth Guru of Sikhs is executed in Delhi. Guru Gobind Singh becomes tenth Guru of Sikhs.

1680                 Shivaji dies at Raigad, Sambhaji became 2nd Chhatrapati of the Maratha Empire

1707                 Death of Aurangzeb the Mughal emperor.

1757                 In Battle of Plassey, Robert Clive, leads British forces which defeated the Mughal governor of Bengal Mir Jafar

1774                 Warren Hastings appointed the first governor general of India by the East India Company

1775                 First Anglo-Maratha War

1799                 Death of Tipu Sultan

1853                 Started Post Service

1853             First Railway established between Bombay and Thane

1857                 Indian Mutiny Rebellion of 1857(10th May)

1857                 Establishment of University of Mumbai, University of Madras and University of Calcutta in India

1858                 The British government ruled India, Lord Dalhousie becomes the Governor-General of  India

1862                 Death of Bahadur Shah Zafar

1869                 "Arya Samaj" Established

1876                 Queen Victoria was given the title Empress of India by the British Parliament

1885                 Burma became an Indian province

1885                 The Indian National Congress was formed (28th December)

1905                 The British government divided Bengal into separate Hindu and Muslim sections

1909                 Morley-Minto Reforms

1914                 World War 1

1915                 Mahatma Gandhi returns back to India

1919                 Jallianwala Bagh Massacre (13th April)

1920                 Mahatma Gandhi became president of Indian National Congress, Non-cooperation movement Khilafat Movement

1927                 Simon Commission

1929                 Central Assembly Bombed by Bhagat Singh and Batukeshwar Dutt.

1930                 Purna Swaraj resolution in Lahore, Salt Satyagraha startedMahatma Gandhi

1931                 Bhagat Singh, Rajguru and Sukhdev Martyred (23rd March)

1935                 Government of India Act

1939                 World War 2 began

1940                 Muhammad Ali Jinnah demanded that a new country be formed from India for the Muslims, which would be called Pakistan

1942                 Quit India Movement

1942                 Indian National Army Established by Subhas Chandra Bose

1945                 World War II ended when United States dropped atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki (August)

1946                 Royal Indian Navy Mutiny

1946                 The British government agreed to grant India independence

1947                 British and Indian leaders agreed to divide the country into India and Pakistan

1947                 India became independent (15th August)

1948                 Mahatma Gandhi assassinated by Nathuram Godse (30th January)

1950                 Constitution of India came into effect and Jawaharlal Nehru became the Indian first prime minister (26th January)

Enter Email Address for Newsletter

    Share on facebook    Share on twitter    Share on google +