• Lakshadweep is athe group of 36 islands. It is a uni-district Union Territory and comprises of 12 atolls, three reefs, five submerged banks and ten inhabited islands.

• Lakshadweep smallest Union Territory.

• It is known for its exotic and sun-kissed beaches and lush green landscape.

• Lakshadweep means "one hundred thousand islands" in Sanskrit, and Malayalam.

• Malayalam is the most spoken language in the territory.

• The islands have a total area of 32 sq km.

• The capital of Lakshadweep is Kavaratti and it is also the principal town of the Union Territory.

• At the 2011 Indian census, the population of the Union Territory was 64,473 and a literacy rate of 92.28%.

• Agatti Aerodrome on Agatti Island is the only airport in Lakshadweep.

State Symbols of Lakshadweep
Category English Term
Animal Butterfly fish
Bird Brown noddy
Flower Neelakurinji
Tree Bread fruit