Mughal Empire and Dynasty

In 1526, Babur established the Mughal Empire by defeating the Sultan of Delhi, Ibrahim Lodi, at the Battle of Panipat, and he went on to rule over much of northern India. The Mughal Empire in India existed for a period of approximately three centuries, from 1526 to 1858. Here is a brief timeline of the major events and rulers of the Mughal Empire:

1526: Babur establishes the Mughal Empire in India by defeating the Sultan of Delhi, Ibrahim Lodi, at the Battle of Panipat.

1530-1556: Reign of Babur's son, Humayun, who loses control of the empire to the Sur Dynasty but regains it with the help of the Persian ruler, Shah Tahmasp.

1556-1605: Reign of Akbar, who expands the empire's territory and centralizes the administration. He also introduces religious tolerance and reforms in the legal system.

1605-1627: Reign of Jahangir, who continues many of Akbar's policies but is known for his love of art and architecture.

1628-1658: Reign of Shah Jahan, who builds many famous architectural landmarks such as the Taj Mahal.

1658-1707: Reign of Aurangzeb, who expands the empire to its greatest territorial extent but is known for his religious intolerance.

1707-1719: Reign of Bahadur Shah I, the last of the "great Mughals".

1719-1857: Decline of the Mughal Empire and increasing intervention and control by the British East India Company.

1857: The Indian Rebellion of 1857, also known as the Sepoy Mutiny, marks the end of the Mughal Empire, leading to the British Raj. The British exiled the last Mughal emperor Bahadur Shah Zafar II and effectively ended Mughal Empire.