• Nagaland is one of the states located on the North Eastern part of India.

• The State of Nagaland was formally established on December 1st, 1963, as the 16th State of the Indian Union.

• It is bounded by Assam in the West, Myanmar on the east, Arunachal Pradesh and part of Assam on the North and Manipur in the South.

• Kohima is the capital city and while Dimapur is the largest city in the state.

• Total area in the state is 16,579 sq km.

• Total population in the state is around 18 lakhs according to 2011 census.

• The density in the state is 119 per sq km.

• The state has only one parliamentary constituency.

• The State consists of 7 Districts.

• Literacy rate in the state is 80.11 %.

• Nagaland is inhabited by 16 major tribes along with other sub-tribes. Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Khiamniungan, Kuki, Konyak, Lotha, Phom, Pochury etc are some of the major tribes inhabited in Nagaland.

• English is the official language of Nagaland. Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang etc are the other languages used in Nagaland.

• 90% of the state population is Christian by religion.

• Economy of the state is mainly depends on agriculture.

• Milak, Barak, Dhansiri are the major rivers in the state.

• Dimapur, Kohima, Mokokchung etc are the main tourist attraction place in Nagaland.

State Symbols of Nagaland
Category English Term
Animal Mithun
Bird Blyth's tragopan
Flower Tree rhododendron
Tree Alder
Fish Chocolate mahseer

Districts of Nagaland
District Headquarters Area (km2) Population (2011) Population Density (/km2)
Dimapur Dimapur 926 3,79,769 410
Kiphire Kiphire 1,255 74,033 66
Kohima Kohima 1,041 2,70,063 213
Longleng Longleng 885 50,593 89
Mokokchung Mokokchung 1,615 1,93,171 120
Mon Mon 1,786 2,59,604 145
Noklak Noklak 1,152 59,300 51
Peren Peren 2,300 1,63,294 55
Phek Phek 2,026 1,63,294 81
Tuensang Tuensang 4,228 4,14,801 98
Wokha Wokha 1,628 1,66,239 120
Zunheboto Zunheboto 1,255 1,41,014 112