New 7 wonders of the World

Christ Redeemer: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The 120 feet tall and 98 feet wide statue is located in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The statue was created by Paul Landowski, a Polish-French sculptor and built by the Brazilian engineer Heitor da Silva Costa. The construction of the statue was started in 1922 and itChrist-rio took almost 9 years to complete. On October 12, 1931 the statue was opened to the public for first time. It is placed on the 2300 feet high of Corcovado Mountain in the Tijuca Forest National Park. It is the 5th largest statue of Jesus in the World.

Great Wall of China: China

The Great Wall of China is the world's longest wall which is even visible from moon. The wall is more than 2,300 years old. The construction of the wall was stated by Qin Shi Huang of Qin dynasty, though later most of the part was built by Ming dynasty. Initially the main purpose for the construction of the wall was to prevent attacks from the various nomadic groups. So the wall was integrated with military defensive systems like watchtowers, fortresses and logistics. The total length of the wall is 21,196 kilometers. The length of the Great Wall of Ming Dynasty is 8,851.8 kilometers from Hushan in Liaoning to Jiayuguan Pass in Gansu.


Machu Picchu: Peru

This historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu is located on the Cusco Region of Machupicchu District in Peru. This 15th-century Inca site located 2,430 meters above the sea level. The site contains more than 150 buildings ranging from baths, temples and houses to solar clock. The site was abandon by Inca Empire in 1572 after Spanish attack. It was rediscovered in 1911 by Yale archaeologist Hiram Bingham. In 1983, UNESCO designated Machu Picchu as a World Heritage Site.


Petra: Jordan

Petra (also known as Rose-Red city) is an archaeological city in Jordan. The city was build around 312 BC and remains capital for Arab Nabataeans from 400 B.C. to 106 A.D. It is famous for its rock-cut architecture and water conduit system. The city was rediscovered by Swiss explorer Johann Ludwig Burckhardt in 1812. In 1985, the Petra Archaeological Park was declared a UNESCO World Heritage site. The city conains several ancient temples, tombs and houses. It is one of the major tourist attractions in the World.


Pyramid at Chichén Itzá: Yucatan Peninsula, Mexico

This Mayan temple site is located in the Yucatán State of Mexico. It was the economic and political center during Mayan civilization. The site contains various structures like El Castillo (Temple of Kukulcan), Hall of the Thousand Pillars and Temple of Chac Mool. Chichen Itza means “at the mouth of the well of Itza “. The Temple of Kukulcan is 30 m height. Its four sides contain 365 steps, 52 panels and 18 terraces. The city was flourishing between 750 AD to 1200 AD.


Roman Colosseum: Rome, Italy

Build in the city center of Rome, it was mostly used for gladiatorial contests, wild animal fights and dramas. The Colosseum could hold more than 50,000 spectators. It has 80 entrances. It was build during 70 to 80 AD by Roman Emperors Vespasian and Titus. In 80 AD Titus officially dedicated the Colosseum to the people of Rome with a festival including 100 days of games. After Great Fire of Rome in 64 AD, Emperor Nero used most part of it for personal domain. It is elliptical in plan and is 189 meters long and 156 meters in wide. The base of the Colosseum covering about 6 acres of lands. The southern side of the Colosseum was severely damage by an earthquake in 847.


Taj Mahal: Agra, India

The Taj Mahal is located in the Agra city of Indian State Uttar Pradesh near the Yamuna river. The monument was build by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan in the memory of his late wife Mumtaz Mahal. The construction took 21 years and finally completed in 1653. It was build with white marbles and covers an area of 42 acres. It has a height of 73 meters.