• Sikkim is located on the North Easter part of India.

• It is the second smallest state by area wise and least populated state of India. The world's third highest peak, Kanchenjunga is located in Sikkim.

• Sikkim shares its boundary with Nepal to the west, Bhutan to the east, China to the north and east, and West Bengal in the south.

• It is the only Indian state which is connected with India through a single border.

• The state is merged with India on 16th May, 1975.

• Gangtok is the largest and capital city of Sikkim.

• The state has only 4 districts with total area of 7,096 square km.

• Total population in the state is more than 6 lakhs according to 2011 census.

• The density in the state is 86 square km.

• Teesta is the main river in the state.

• Literacy rate in the state is 76.6 %.

• Sikkim has 11 official languages: Nepali (which is its lingua franca), Sikkimese, Lepcha, Tamang, Limbu, Newari, Rai, Gurung, Magar, Sunwar and English.

• The state economy mainly depends on agriculture.

• Tusklakhang, Namgyal, Solophok Chardham, Orchid Sanctuary, Changu Lake, Yumthang Velley are the major tourist attraction in the state.

• Kanchendzonga, Lossong are the major festival celebrated in Sikkim.

State Symbols of Sikkim
Category English Term
Animal Red panda
Bird Blood pheasant
Flower Noble dendrobium
Tree Rhododendron