Uttarakhand at a glance

Uttarakhand is a state located in northern India. It is also known as "The Land of the Gods" due to the many Hindu temples and pilgrimage centers located in the region. The capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun. Uttarakhand is known for its natural beauty, with the Himalayan mountain range running through the state. The state is home to many popular tourist destinations, including the Char Dham temples, Nanda Devi National Park, Rajaji National Park and the Valley of Flowers National Park. The state is also known for its Ayurvedic medicine and traditional handicrafts.

Here, Uttarakhand at a glance provides important information and figures about Uttarakhand. This is helpful for General Knowledge exams.

Uttarakhand at a glance
Particulars Description
Capital Bhararisain (summer), Dehradun (winter)
Established 9th November 2000
Largest City Dehradun
Latitude 30.0668° N
Longitude 79.0193° E
Area Total 53,483 km2
Districts 13
Tehsils 113
Development Blocks 95
No. of Municipal Corporations 8
Total Towns 31
Total Villages 16826
Total Population (Census 2011) 1,01,16,752
Male (Census 2011) 51,54,178
Female (Census 2011) 49,62,574
Density (Census 2011) 189 per sq km
Literacy Rate -Total (Census 2011) 79.63%
Literacy Rate -Male (Census 2011) 88.33%
Literacy Rate -Female (Census 2011) 70.70%
Highest peak Nanda Devi (25,643 ft)
Official Language Hindi and Sanskrit
State Mammal Alpine Musk Deer
State Bird Himalayan Monal
State Flower Brahma Kamal
State Tree Burans
State Sport Football
Airport Dehradun, Pantnagar, Pithoragarh
Lok Sabha Constituency 5
Rajya Sabha Seat 3
Assembly Constituency 70